Submitted by Dr Bernard Ince , email: May not be copied or reproduced without permission from submitter.

The following list is taken from THE CREOLE ALMANACK for TRINIDAD & TOBAGO 1893, compiled and published by L.O.INNISS. This is a partial list of Chief Officers taken from page 63. I obtained this from the British Library in London (shelfmark P.P.2587.ab.). I have omitted salary details. If anyone wishes to enquire about the omitted dates and salaries they can email me, but I have no further information to offer on the individuals listed below.
First Assistant Surveyor – H. de LAPEYROUSE
Second Assistant Surveyor – J.E. MORVANT
Third Assistant Surveyor – R. KERNAHAN
Superintendent Botanic Gardens – H.H. HART, F.L.S.
Asst. Superintendent – W.E. BROADWAY
Superintendent of Pastures and Examiner of Animals – J.B.WHITE
Supt. of Government Printing Office – H.J. CLARK
Chief Justice – J.J. GOLDNEY
Registrar of the Courts and Marshal – L.M. POWER [my Great Grandfather]
Chief Clerk – E.D. CLARKE
Attorney-General – G.L. GARCIA
Solicitor-General & Law Officer for Tobago – V. BROWN
Crown Solicitor – L.D. O’CONNOR
Assistant Marshal – D. HART
Inspector of Schools – R.G. BUSHE
First Assistant Inspector of Schools – W.H. ROBINSON
Second Assistant – C.H.D. HOBSON
Third Assistant – E.G. PENALOSA
Accountant – A.E. BRERETON
Superintendent Boys’ Model School – J.H. COLLINS
Superintendent Girls’ Model School – H. BROWN
Principal Queen’s Royal College – W. MILES
Second Master – H.H. HANCOCK
Third Master – C. BISHOP
Prof. Chemistry & Government Analyst – P. CARMODY
French and Spanish Master – C. BRADSHAW
Prof. St Mary’s College – Rev. FEMERIE
Surgeon-General – S.L. CRANE, C.M.G.
Chief Clerk – ditto
Sanitary Insp. and Sec. Board of Health – F.J. FULLER
Dispenser Colonial Hospital – J.E. SAMUELS
Dispenser San F’do – J.C. POYNER
Medical Storekeeper – J.B. INNISS
Inspector-General of Police and Captain of Fire Brigade – Captain E. FORTESCUE
Inspector of Southern Division – A.D.P. OWEN
Inspector of Northern Division – J. BRIERLY
Sub-Inspector – J. GIBLAN
Superintendent of Prisons – L.M.FRASER
First Clerk – G.F. BOURNE
Superintendent Convict Depot – Chas. W. MEADEN
Railway Traffic Manager – A.R.GRAY
Assistant Traffic Manager – F.J.MAHONEY

Leave a Reply